

Flash Memory Summit Announces 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

Honor George Perlegos for his groundbreaking work to develop and manufacture flash memory and the technologies that preceded it

SANTA CLARA, CA – July 25, 2017 – Flash Memory Summit 2017 (FMS), August 8-10, 2017, at the Santa Clara Convention Center, is honored to announce that its 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award recipient is George Perlegos. This award is presented annually to the most distinguished contributors to the success of Flash Memory. George is being honored "for chip design and fabrication process inventions used in EPROM, EEPROM and Flash Memory devices which have been instrumental in the ubiquity of non-volatile memory."

Sanjay Mehrotra, SanDisk co-founder and current Micron President and CEO, will be on stage during the award ceremony at 11:30am on Tuesday, August 8. "George Perlegos has been a revolutionary force in our industry," said Mehrotra. "He was my mentor when I was a non-volatile memory designer at both Intel and SEEQ, and he had a huge impact on my professional life as well as that of countless others."

In the 1970s, George was a key developer of three pivotal Intel EPROM and EEPROM chips whose innovations paved the way for Flash Memory. His entrepreneurial spirit led him to co-found SEEQ and ATMEL in the early 1980s. ATMEL's then-radical fabless business model is now the norm throughout the industry, and billions of ATMEL-designed flash chips are in current use throughout the world.

Jeff Katz, a 17-year co-worker of Perlegos' who was with him as Chief Marketing Officer at ATMEL, stated "George's early EPROM and EEPROM circuit techniques as well as his microcontroller-based embedded flash innovations have helped pave the way for the huge success of the flash memory industry."

"It is only fitting that we honor George Perlegos for his groundbreaking work to develop and manufacture flash memory and the technologies that preceded it," said Jim Handy of Objective Analysis. "Throughout his extraordinary career, George Perlegos has embodied the characteristics of leadership, entrepreneurial spirit and vision that have contributed to the importance of the flash memory industry," said Brian Berg, Flash Memory Summit Technical Chair and President of Berg Software Design.

See www.FlashMemorySummit.com for more information about George and the previous FMS Lifetime Achievement Award winners.

Supporting Resources

- Visit FMS: FlashMemorySummit.com
- Follow FMS on LinkedIn.com/groups/4129499
- Follow FMS on Twitter.com/FlashMem
- Follow FMS on <u>Facebook.com/FlashMemorySummit</u>

About Flash Memory Summit

Flash Memory Summit, produced by Conference ConCepts, showcases the mainstream applications, key technologies and leading vendors that are driving the multi-billion dollar non-volatile memory and SSD markets. FMS is now the world's largest event featuring the trends, innovations and influencers driving the adoption of Flash Memory in demanding enterprise storage applications, as well as in smartphones,

tablets, and mobile and embedded systems. FMS, August 8-10, 2017, at the Santa Clara Convention Center, attracts 6000+ attendees and over 100 exhibitors. Information is at www.FlashMemorySummit.com.

Media Contact

Ana Perez Flash Memory Summit <u>Press@FlashMemorySummit.com</u> +1.415.299.7767